Kieron Pollard to continue as TKR captain in CPL 2020

Kieron Pollard will captain the Trinbago Knight Riders in the forthcoming season of the Caribbean Premier League. Pollard takes over the reins from Dwayne Bravo, who let the side to back-to-back CPL titles in 2017 and 2018.

Bravo was slated to captain last year too but missed the entirety of the tournament after being struck on the hand during a net session on the eve of the tournament start. Pollard, West Indies’ white-ball skipper, captained the Knight Riders to the playoffs, where they were knocked out by eventual champions Barbados Tridents.

“We are happy that Kieron who is the West Indies captain is our leader at TKR,” Venky Mysore told T&T Guardian. “The champion DJ Bravo has been coming to me year after year and asking me to give someone else the captaincy because he wants to just concentrate on playing and enjoying the game. I always told him not until I am ready and that time has come and he is very happy to play under Pollard.

“They are great friends and they will both come together to give us the best chance at the CPL this year. Bravo said he has played under Pollard before and this will be the best thing at this time for all parties. Pollard was kind enough to accept the position to lead the team at the tournament. He said if we wanted him to do it he will and we said that we will be delighted to have him as captain again.”

Bravo, however, will continue to remain a part of the team’s leadership group and will be the official vice-captain of the team on the field. “Both Bravo and Pollard have captained each other at the local and international level and so are very comfortable working together and sharing information. Both are extremely accomodating in their approach to leadership,” team manager Colin Borde said.

The Knight Riders kickoff CPL 2020 with a game against five-time finalists Guyana Amazon Warriors on August 18. All games in the season will be played in Trinidad & Tobago this year owing to the Coronavirus pandemic. The final is scheduled for September 11 at the Brian Lara Stadium.

© Cricbuzz

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *